Buying
Your Home
1.) Looking for a
home without being pre-approved.
Pre-approval and pre-qualification are two different
things. During the pre-qualification process,
a loan officer asks you a few questions, then
hands you a "pre-qual" letter. The
pre-approval process is much more thorough.
During the pre-approval process, the mortgage
company does virtually all the work associated
with obtaining full-approval. Since there is
no property yet identified to purchase, however,
an appraisal and title search aren't conducted.
When you're pre-approved, you have much more
negotiating clout with the seller. The seller
knows you can close the transaction because
a lender has carefully reviewed your income,
assets, credit and other relevant information.
In some cases (multiple offers, for example),
being pre-approved can make the difference between
buying and not buying a home. Also, you can
save thousands of dollars as a result of being
in a better negotiating situation.
Most good Realtors® will not show you homes
until you are pre-approved. They don't want
to waste your, their, or the seller's time.
Many mortgage companies will help you become
pre-approved at little or no cost. They'll usually
need to check your credit and verify your income
and assets.
2.) Making verbal
(oral) agreements!
If an agent tries to make you sign a written
document that is contrary to their verbal commitments,
don't do it! For example, if the agent says
the washer will come with the home, but the
contract says it will not--the written contract
will override the verbal contract. In fact,
written contracts almost always override verbal
contracts. When buying or selling real estate,
abide by this maxim: Get it in writing!
3.) Choosing
a lender because they have the lowest rate.
Not getting a written good-faith estimate.
While rate is important, you have to consider
the overall cost of your loan. Pay close attention
to the APR, loan fees, discount and origination
points. Some lenders include discount and origination
points in their quoted points. Other lenders
may only quote discount points, when in fact
there is an additional origination point (or
fraction of a point).
This difference in the way points are sometime
quoted is important to you. One lender will
quote all points, while another lender may disclose
an extra point, or fraction thereof, at a later
time--an unwelcome surprise.
Within 3 working days after receipt of your
completed loan application, your mortgage company
is required to provide you with a written good-faith
estimate (GFE) of closing costs. You may want
to consider requesting a GFE from a few lenders
before submitting your application. With a few
GFEs to compare, you can get a feel for which
lenders are more thorough, and you can educate
yourself regarding the costs associated with
your transaction. The GFE with the highest costs
may not indicate that a particular lender is
more expensive than another--in fact, they may
be more diligent in itemizing all fees.
The cost of the mortgage, however, shouldn't
be your only criteria. There is no substitute
for asking family and friends for referrals
and for interviewing prospective mortgage companies.
You must also feel comfortable that the loan
officer you are dealing with is committed to
your best interests and will deliver what they
promise.
4.) Choosing a lender
because they are recommended by your Realtor®.
Your Realtor is not a financial expert. He or
she may not know which loan is best for you.
Your Realtor® gets a commission only when
your transaction closes. As a result, the Realtor®
may refer you to a lender who will close your
loan, but who may not have the best rates or
fees. Also, many Realtors® refer you to
one of their friends in the loan business--who
also may not have the best rates or fees. Although
most Realtors® are professional and concerned
about your best interests, you should do your
own homework.
We recommend shopping for a loan with at least
three mortgage companies before you make a decision.
There are countless stories of consumers who
ended up paying higher rates, or got a loan
that wasn't right for them, because they blindly
followed their Realtor's® advice.
5.) Not getting a
rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company tells you they have
locked your rate, get a written statement detailing
the interest rate, the length of the rate lock,
and other particulars about the program.
6.) Using a dual
agent (an agent who represents the buyer and
seller in the same transaction).
Buyers and sellers have opposing interests.
Sellers want to receive the highest price, buyers
want to pay the lowest price. In most situations,
dual agents cannot be fair to both buyer and
seller. Since the seller usually pays the commission,
the dual agent may negotiate harder for the
seller than for the buyer. If you are a buyer,
it is usually better to have your own agent
represent you.
The only time you should consider using a dual
agent, is when you can get a price break (usually
resulting from the dual agent lowering their
commission). In that case, proceed cautiously
and do your homework!
7.) Buying
a home without professional inspections. Taking
the seller's word that repairs have been made.
Unless you're buying a new home with warranties
on most equipment, it is highly recommended
that you get property, roof and termite inspections.
These reports will give you a better picture
of what you're buying. Inspection reports are
great negotiating tools when it comes to asking
the seller to make repairs. If a professional
home inspector states that certain repairs need
to be made, the seller is more likely to agree
to making them.
If the seller agrees to make repairs, have your
inspector verify the completed work prior to
close of escrow. Do not assume that everything
will be done as promised.
8.) Not shopping
for home insurance until you are ready to close.
Start shopping for insurance as soon as you
have an accepted offer. Many buyers wait until
the last minute to get insurance and find they
have no time left to shop around.
9.) Signing
documents without reading them.
Do not sign documents in a hurry. As soon as
possible, review the documents you'll be signing
at close of escrow--including a copy of all
loan documents. This way, you can review them
and get your questions answered in a timely
manner. Do not expect to read all the documents
during the closing. There is rarely enough time
to do that.
10.) Making moving
plans that don't work.
You expect to move out of your current residence
on Friday and into your new residence over the
weekend. Also on Friday, your lease terminates
and the movers are scheduled to appear.
Friday morning arrives: bags packed, boxes stacked,
children under arm and the dog on a leash; you're
sitting on your front door stoop awaiting the
arrival of the movers.
Your phone rings. Your loan closing is delayed
until the following Tuesday. The new tenants
turn into your driveway with a weighted-down
U-Haul and the movers pull up across the street.
You ask yourself, "Where's the nearest
Motel 6 and storage facility? How much will
the movers charge for an extra trip? Can we
afford it?"
How can you avoid such a disaster? Cancel your
lease and ask the movers to show up five to
seven days after you anticipate closing your
transaction. Consider the extra expense an insurance
policy. You're buying peace of mind--and protecting
yourself from expensive delays. |
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Refinancing Your Home
1.) Refinancing with
your current lender without shopping around.
Your current lender may not have the
best rates and programs.
Believing it's easier to work with your current
lender is a common misconception. In most cases,
they'll require the same documentation as other
lenders and mortgage brokers. This is because
most loans are sold on the secondary market
and have to be approved independently. Even
if you've been good at making payments to your
existing lender, they'll still have to process
the verifications all over again.
2.) Not doing a break-even
analysis.
Determine the total transaction costs
and how much you'll save each month by lowering
your monthly mortgage payment. Divide the transaction
costs by the monthly savings to determine the
number of months you'll have to stay in the
property to recoup your refinancing costs.
For example, if the costs of refinancing total
$2000, and you save $50 per month, you break-even
in 2000/50 = 40 months. In this case, you should
only refinance if you plan to stay in the home
for at least 40 months
3.) Not getting a
written good-faith estimate of closing costs.
Within 3 working days after receipt
of your completed loan application, your mortgage
company is required to provide you with a written
good-faith estimate of closing costs.
4.) Paying
for a home appraisal when you think the appraised
value may be too low.
Have the appraisal company conduct a Desktop/drive-by
appraisal and provide you with a range of possible
values. Your mortgage company can ask an appraiser
to do this for you.
Do not waste your money on a complete appraisal
if you believe the home is unreasonably priced.
5.) Using the county
tax assessor's value as the market value of
your home.
Mortgage companies do not use the county tax
assessor's value to help determine if they'll
originate your loan. They, like real estate
agents, usually use the sales comparison approach
(formerly known as the market data comparison
approach).
6.) Signing documents
without reading them.
Do not sign documents in a hurry. As soon as
possible, review the documents you'll be signing
at close of escrow--including a copy of all
loan documents. This way, you can review them
and get your questions answered in a timely
manner. Do not expect to read all the documents
during the closing. There is rarely enough time
to do that.
7.) Not providing
your mortgage company with documents in a timely
manner.
When your mortgage company asks you for additional
paperwork--get cracking! They're trying to get
you approved! If you don't quickly respond to
your broker's requests, you could end up paying
higher rates should your rate lock expire.
8.) Not getting a
rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company tells you they've locked
your rate, get a written statement detailing
the interest rate, the length of the rate lock,
and other particulars about the program.
9.) Drawing against
your home equity credit line before you refinance
your first mortgage.
Many lenders have "cash-out" seasoning
requirements. If you draw against your credit
line for anything other than home improvements,
they'll consider your first mortgage refinance
transaction a "cash-out" refinance.
This creates stricter lending requirements and
can, in some cases, break your deal!
10.) Getting a second
mortgage before you refinance your first mortgage.
Many mortgage companies look at the combined
loan amounts (i.e., the sum of the first and
second loans) when you are refinancing only
your first loan. If you plan on refinancing
your first loan, check with your mortgage company
to see if having a second loan will cause your
refinance to be turned down.
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1.)
Not checking to see if your credit line has
a pre-payment penalty clause.
If you are getting a "NO FEE"
credit line, chances are it has a pre-payment
penalty clause. This can be very important (and
expensive) if you are planning to sell or refinance
your home in the next three to five years.
2.) Getting too large
a credit line.
When you get too large a credit line, you can
be turned down for other loans. Some lenders
calculate your credit line payments based upon
the available credit, even when your credit
line has a zero balance. Having a large credit
line indicates a large potential payment, which
makes it difficult to qualify for loans.
3.) Not
understanding the difference between an equity
loan and a credit line.
An equity loan is closed--i.e., you get all
your money up front, then make payments on that
fixed loan amount until the loan is paid. An
equity credit line is open--i.e., you can get
an initial advance against the line, then reuse
the line as often as you want during the period
the line is open. Most credit lines are accessed
through a checkbook or a credit card. Credit
line payments are based upon the outstanding
balance.
Use an equity loan when you need all the money
up front--e.g. home improvements or debt consolidation.
Use a credit line if you have an ongoing need
for money or need the money for a future event--e.g.,
you need to pay for your child's college tuition
in three years.
4.) Not
checking the lifecap on your equity line.
Many credit lines have lifecaps of 18%. Be prepared
to make high interest payments if rates move
upwards
5.) Getting a credit
line from your local bank without shopping around.
Many consumers get their credit line from the
bank with which they have their checking account.
Shop around before deciding to use your bank.
6.) Not
getting a good-faith estimate of closing costs.
Within three working days after receipt of your
completed loan application, your mortgage company
is required to provide you with a written good-faith
estimate of closing costs.
7.) Assuming
that the interest on your home credit line/loan
is tax deductible.
In some instances, the interest on your home
credit line is NOT tax deductible.
It is beyond the scope of this document to provide
tax advice or quote from the IRS code. Contact
an accountant or CPA to determine your particular
situation.
8.) Assuming a home
equity line is always cheaper than a car loan
or a credit card.
A credit card at 6.9% can be cheaper than a
credit line at 12%, even after the tax deduction.
To compare rates, compare the effective rate
of your credit line with the rate on a credit
card or auto loan.
Effective rate = rate * (1 - tax bracket)
Example: If the rate of the home equity credit
line is 12% and your tax bracket is 30%, your
effective rate is12% * (1 - 0.3) = 12% * 0.7
= 8.4%
If your credit card is higher than 8.4%, the
credit line is cheaper.
Besides the interest rate, you may also want
to compare monthly payments and other terms
of the loan.
9.) Getting a home
equity credit line if you plan to refinance
your first mortgage in the near future.
Many mortgage companies look at the combined
loan amounts (i.e., the first loan plus the
equity line/loan) even though they are refinancing
only the first mortgage. If you plan on refinancing
your first loan, check with your mortgage company
to determine if getting a second line/loan will
cause your refinance to be turned down.
10.)
Getting a home equity credit line to pay off
your credit cards if your spending is out of
control!
When you pay off your credit cards with your
credit line, don't put your home on the line
by charging large amounts on your credit cards
again! If you can't manage the plastic, get
rid of it!
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